when my world stopped before i did

I was dead tired when I arrived home.  My wife welcomed me but I brushed her aside.  I asked how the children were and without waiting for an answer, I headed to our bedroom.  I just kicked off my shoes, removed my tie and threw it at the bedside table.  Then I immediately dozed off.

In the middle of the night, I was roused from sleep.  I dreamt I was rushing home from the office and I was being followed by a cab.  As I went down from my car, one male person boxed me in the face.  I hit him in the gut and gave him an uppercut.  Another person was shouting; then I felt the nozzle of a pistol directed at my temple.  I was breathing heavily and was sweating profusely when I woke up.

I went to the kitchen and drank cold water from the fridge.

When I went back to bed, my wife was still fast asleep.  I pulled my pants and took off my long sleeves.  I then lit the lampshade by my bedside.   I opened a file folder from by backpack and began to read.

Suddenly, I noticed my wife shuddering.

I laid the file folder at the bedside table and crawled to where my wife lay.  I hugged her and I kissed the back of her head.

I heard her mumbling.

She spoke my name in her sleep.

There was sadness in her soft, lovely voice when she said: “Bakit ang hirap mong mahalin?”

I felt numb.

I drew her closer to me.

I began to feel her pain.

It was real.

And I began to sob in disbelief.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Not in any way romantically involved/attached right now pero pero pero wah. Mamam na guys!

    Reply
  2. kita mo…nasuya na tuloy si wife….

    Reply
  3. aw..😦

    Reply
  4. kung hindi kita kilala kuya, maniniwala talaga ‘ko sa mga ganitong klaseng post mo.

    napapaisip tuloy ako kung ano ang kumakalikot sa utak mo kapag nagsusulat ka ng mga ganitong post.o_O

    impeachment na lang. lol!

    Reply
  5. sakit non db? daig mo pa ang tinira sa pwet non!!

    buti na lang alam kong fiction lang ito..ahahahaha

    Reply
  6. Kaya ayaw kong magpasakal, este kasal.

    Reply
  7. hay. ang gusto kong malaman e kung anong kwento ilang araw o buwan bago nangyari yung eksenang yun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

