Lito

(Warning:  The following article is long and melodramatic.   If you got  the time, please continue reading.  However,  the theme may not be suitable for young audiences;  and adult  supervision is recommended.  Any similarity of events and  characters to real life is purely coincidental and not intended. Nonetheless, your views and insights to the story at the comment section would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks. -Taribong)

It’s  past   three   o’clock in the morning and i barely had sleep.  My whole body ached from the beating i had.   My right foot is swollen and it really hurts.  Pain overwhelmed me but the pain inside had been worse.

My wife lay fast asleep  beside me.   Her arms wrapped around my neck and her gentle snore filled our room engulfed  in darkness,  the only light came from the red dot of the television set on standby mode.

The past day had been frantic.  I just wanted it to pass and let it be just one damned normal day.  But,  the experience was indeed liberating.

For  almost  eight months, I have kept secret that one fateful afternoon i gave in to temptation with my sister-in-law’s  househelp in Cavite.  I knew Mariel had the hots for me;   I did not care at all and just shrugged it off.  My brother’s  widow  Elena had asked me to do their plumbing because their regular maintenance guy has gone abroad; i dutifully obliged.  Elena was  still  in the office, and my nephews  and nieces were all  in  school when i arrived;  only Mariel was  at home.

After i had accomplished my task,  i took off my shirt and used it to dry the dripping sweat from my body.   Then Mariel  suddenly embraced me and kissed me on the lips.   She was aggressive and dragged me to her room near the kitchen.   I reciprocated her advances.   I was careful not to explode inside her but she locked  her legs with mine.  The intensity of the moment prevented me from  pulling back and then it was too late.

Nobody knew of the incident except Mariel and me.  Tony,  Mariel’s husband, was off to Romblon for work  and had been away for two months when the incident happened.  It was only two weeks after that incident that Tony returned home.

Six weeks  passed  when i received news from Mariel  that she  is pregnant  with my baby.   Abortion was an option, but we were able to regain our composure and decided that Mariel proceed with her pregnancy.  Our tryst was repeated on three occasions while Tony was away, and Elena and her kids were also out of the house.  When Tony knew about Mariel’s pregnancy, he disowned the child in her womb; and he distanced himself from Mariel.

There was a time that i have been longing so hard for Mariel and i could not take her off my mind.  At one time,  I thought of leaving my family.   I felt Mariel loved me more than my wife Zeny did.    The love and  care  and carresses  that  Mariel showed me  only magnified Zeny’s inadequacies.  It seemed Zeny’s  affection lacked  fire,  her  flaws  were increasing  and  i was falling into the labyrinth of sin.

My wife had also complained about my indifference towards her at times,  i had argued with her and had belatedly told  her not to mind because it was just stress.    My close friends at the office also noticed changes in my behavior and i had to confide to them, if only to ease the burden on my shoulders,  and  pleaded   with them to keep it a secret as well.  I was able to save  extra income for Mariel’s   prenatal  check-ups and was also able to purchase baby’s  clothing and  feeding utensils.

Seven weeks before due date,  Mariel gave birth to a baby girl.  It was my father (who also lived in their neighborhood) who brought Mariel to the hospital.  When my father saw the child, he sensed something but never confronted Mariel.  After i learned  Mariel’s delivery,  i hurriedly excused myself from the office to  see her and the baby.   When i got there, i got some scolding from my father and i eventually admitted to the deed.  He advised me to take care of the child and face the consequences.

As  the day passed,  the tension grew and my burden became heavier.  The  newborn needed to stay at the  ICU.   The expenses were growing by the hour for the rental of the incubator.  I could not be with Mariel or the baby,  and i feared i would not be able to sustain their needs any longer.   Besides,  my work at the office is badly affected. My attention was divided by my worries. Worse,  my acts would not be a secret any more.

The following day was my birthday and i celebrated it without fanfare.   My family noticed that i was not my usual self but i just told them to just let it pass.  I had a terrible headache and was  thinking about my newborn child,  Mariel,  my family,  my Zeny, my kids.  What if Zeny found out?   Would my kids be able to accept their newborn half-sister?  My mind was in circus and i had to seek solace from the advices of my friends no matter how irritated they may have already been with me.  The best advice they had for me was  to confide everything to my wife and bravely face the consequences.  They warned it would be hard but then i must.  After all,  the truth would set me free.

Yesterday, i had my breakfast and was about to leave for office but i know i would not be able to work well for the day.  I decided to stay put.  My two kids have gone to school and only the third one was left behind.  I asked him to  go play outside as Mommy and i have to talk about something important.

After my son left, i approached Zeny and told her i have something to tell her and that i was asking her forgiveness for the sin i have committed, that i was very sorry for  what i had done and that i would  never do it again.

Zeny said she already sensed something was wrong even before i opened my mouth and immediately asked if it was Mariel.   I answered  yes and  Zeny became  angry and a barrage of questions came by.   She became furious.  She was crying and screaming at the top  of  her voice.   She was scolding,  berating me why i had done her wrong.   I also began to cry. I calmly and humbly told her everything she wanted to know.

Question after question  the blows came, one after another, and I took them all.  And wow,  they really hurt.  On the face, on the neck, at the chest, at my arms, at my back.   Zeny hit me hard: open-fisted, close-fisted.   She pinched, she punched,  she kicked.  I could only embrace her but she struggled.  I could not fight back, I could only parry her blows.  Then she got the big tape dispenser on top of our children’s  cabinet and  threw it at me.  It fell on my right foot and the sharp edge  struck near my big toe.  Blood  spilled from  the wound but i could not complain.  I know it was  my fault.

When my wife was tired  from the beating she threw at me,  she tried to  compose  herself  and went to the telephone.   She had  a very long conversation with her best friend who it turned out also had a similar experience with her husband.   They talked for three hours.   I could only stay seated at my seat at the dining table,  faced down.  When my son came back,  i prepared  his meal and prepared him for school.

The telephone conversation pacified Zeny.  After  she put the handset down, i approached her and hugged her.   I told her, I was very sorry and assured her,  i would never do it again. She embraced me back and i kissed her passionately.  Reluctant at first, Zeny eventually gave in and kissed me in return.  What transpired next was the best sex we’ve  ever had.   We were exhausted and after a brief  rest,  we  hurried to a nearby carinderia where we each finished double meals in record time.   By then, I knew everything will  be okay.

Last  night,  as  we  lay on our bed,   my wife again started to question me and asked for details of the affair.  I told her i have already told her the truth.   Tears were again falling on our cheeks.   We slept crying in each other’s  arms.

I awoke in the middle of the night and could not get back to sleep.  I was staring at the darkness of our room.  The memory of all that happened were flashing back to  me.   I was thinking about what i have done to Mariel, my newborn, my Zeny, my kids, my family.  I could hear the beating of my heart.  It beats for my family.  It beats for Zeny.

I heard the rooster crow from the house of  our neighbor Mang Utoy.   Slowly, light crept into the room.  A  new day has begun.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

71 Comments

  1. whew!… i’ve felt the pain of your wife after the revelation… it is so hard to hang on and give trust which already been broken… but i salute her for not giving up.

    pero dama ko rin ang hirap ng loob mo…yong di mo alam ano ang gagawin, sabihin ang totoo o magpakalunod sa kasinungaling para lang maiwasan ang katotohanan.

    para akong lumutang sa post mo….wow!

    Reply
    • Salamat, Prinsesa Aninipot. Akala ko wala nang magko-comment sa haba ng post hehehe. Base ka!!!

      Mula kay Lito na siyang inspirasyon sa akda: Maraming salamat. Hindi ko talaga alam kung ano ang gagawin ko noon. Gusto ko ngang itago ang kamalian ko pero napag-isip ko na mas hindi ako mapapatawad ni misis kung sa iba pa niya malalaman ang lahat. Doon ko napagtanto na mahal niya talaga ako.

      Reply
  2. Maghapong nalunod ang aking sarili sa pagsubsob sa trabaho. Pebrero na pala,nagpapaalalang ang tao ay nilikhang espesyal, may puso..nakakadama ng kaligayahan ganun din ang pagkalungkot.
    Sa buhay ng mag-asawa dumarating ang tukso. Sinusubok ang katatagan..sa punto mo, naiintindihan kita sa pagkahumaling sa iba kahit may sarili ka ng asawa. Ganyan din ang aking mga kapatid, hindi nila maiwasan ang matukso lalo na at ang babae pa ang gumagawa ng paraan para sila ay matikman.
    Ang tanggapin ka ng iyong kabiyak sa kabila ng lahat, yan ang tunay na pag-ibig.
    Kung maibabalik mo lamang ang kahapon?
    Katanungang umuukilkil kapag nabibigyan tayo ng panahong mag-isip.
    Nangyari na ang lahat, pagtatama sa pinaniniwalaang pagkakasala o pagkakamali.
    Kung anuman ang natutunan mo sa karanasang iyon, naniniwala akong mas lumawak pa ang iyong kakayahan bilang isang normal na nilalang ng mundong ito.

    Sino si Lito? Lito na nalito? Naligaw pero nalaman pa rin ang daan pabalik..isang kalulwang bukas ang puso at isip sa anumang oras.

    Isang saludo diyan, parekoy.

    Reply
  3. pruelpo

     /  February 1, 2010

    normal lang na magalit si misis. ang mahalaga inamin mo ang nagawa mo, which is napakahirap gawin ng ibang lalake. nguni’t nagawa mo iyon dahil alam mo na walang pupuwede pumalit sa puso mo kungdi ang mahal mong maybahay. cheers! hindi ka rin naman nagi-isa, ako rin LoL.

    Reply
  4. Di Love kundi Lust ang simula…ang nangyari.
    Segundo lamang ang ang pagitan ng tama at mali.
    Maraming sana…pero andun na…nangyari na.

    Humingi ng patawad(bilib ako)…pinatawad kahit masakit(saludo ako)
    May sugat na ang mga puso…sana maghilom kaagad
    Sana ilagay si Kristo sa gitna ng lahat…mabigat ang pagsubok.

    Love & Forgiveness(& asking for forgiveness)…sila ay laging magkasama sa buhay…upang makamit ang kapayapaan.

    God Bless!

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 5, 2010

      Lito: Salamat po. Mabait talaga ang Diyos. Natukso lang po ako at napakalaking kasalanan ang nagawa. napakabait lang din ni misis. Salamat po.

      Reply
  5. lababo

     /  February 2, 2010

    kamusta na kayo kuya? Sana umokey na lahat pati yung baby.

    Ang hirap naman ng sitwasyon. Pano mo ieexplain sa mga bata? Naisip ko na rin yan dati eh, what if meron akong kapatid sa iba. Kahit gaano kalawak ang pag iisip ko, hindi pa rin makayang tanggapin ng utako ko kung sakaling ganun nga. Hay
    Siguro matatanggap rin naman yan ni misis, unti unti lang.. mukhang naiintindihin at iintindihin rin naman niya.
    Nakupo, anlungkot naman!

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 5, 2010

      Lito: Ok naman. (So far, so good naman sila. -Taribong) Sana pagdating ng panahon, mauunawaan din ng mga anak ko. Si misis, ramdam kong unti-unti na rin niyang natatanggap hindi man biglaan.

      Reply
  6. habambuhay na pasanin to, parekoy. anyways, congrats sa bagong baby.🙂

    Reply
  7. kaye

     /  February 3, 2010

    hmmm… I am thinking that this is not your own story. kasi ang pagkakaalam ko, single ka pa.

    but anyway, whoever Lito is, I pray that his resolve to be faithful and work things out with his wife and family will be strong. We do not always get second chances in life, so whenever we get one, we should learn to do everything to value it.

    As for you, tarbs, good piece, and good way of writing.

    eto na ba ang pang-Valentine’s post mo? hehehe

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 3, 2010

      Thank you so much for the kind words. Napaka-generoso mo naman hehehe.

      Yep, this is my labentayms post and hopefully the urge and desire to write would enable me to come up with another one for the month.

      I’ll try to have Lito write something for everyone who shared their views and insights on this post.

      Happy Anniversary and Happy Valentine to you and bongkito. May you continue to be an inspiration to others. Thank you once again.

      Reply
    • mabuti na lang at nagbabasa ako ng comments bago nagcomment. kay lito pala ito.

      at may generosos pa ha?

      hindi lang ito valentine’s day post. pwede na ring pang – ash wednesday…

      Reply
  8. OMG! i read the whole story, why u did that to ur family?! well, wala naman pala ako sa posisyon to ask! amp!

    dont blame ur self, ganun talaga ang buhay, peru sana maituwid muna ung maling nagwa mu kung hindi pa huli ang lahat.

    God Bless!🙂

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 5, 2010

      Lito: Natukso ako. Naging marupok. Sana maging matatag ako sa mga susunodna pagsubok. Di ko bibigoin ang tiwala ni misis.

      Reply
  9. Is this a true account? What a story! at least you’ve been honest to your wife in the end. If it happened to me, maybe I would’ve done the same thing your wife did…maybe even worse.

    We never really know what is bound to happen. my hunch is that, despite your knowledge of Mariel’s feelings (lust? whatever), you were unaware of her plans. so when she saw the opportunity – there u go, one hapless victim!

    BTW, This is so enlightening😀

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 4, 2010

      Thank you so much for dropping by, Jasmine. The story is wholly based on a true account by Lito. The characters of the story were changed to protect the identity of the people concerned. I really hope others would learn something from this post. Until next time… hehehe

      Reply
  10. Mr. Nonsense

     /  February 4, 2010

    kwento yata ni pacquiao to….next time pwede bang may pictures yung love scene? bitin naman kasi

    Reply
  11. lito kaibigan, nadala ka ng init ng iyong katawan..
    masasabi mong naligayahan ka doon pero panandalian lang yun. tignan mo ang naging bunga.
    sana ang pagkakamaling yan ay hindi na maulit o masundan pa ng parehong senaryo.
    alam mo na ngayon ang consequences.
    maraming nadamay. marami..
    pagkakamali nyong dalawa, isang kasiraan sa lahat.

    ang mainam ngayon ay nagsisisi ka na, handa kang tanggapin lahat ng pwedeng ibato sayo.
    endure lang. kaya yan..

    repentance ika nga.

    teka… kuya bong! nandyan ka ba? nagbalik na po ako haha

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 8, 2010

      Lito: Opo.

      {Mahirap minsan maging marupok at mapusok. (Andito na ako, jasonhamster). hehehe -Taribong}

      Reply
      • @ Lito. Opo ka dyan. hahah biro lang.

        @ Taribong talagang binuo ang jasonhamster. haha

        di ko rin alam bakit pati ako parang apektado…

        Reply
  12. medyo na shocked ako dito ah.. pero mabuti na lang at ok na kayo ni misis. kamukang kamuka mo ba talaga ung baby?

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 8, 2010

      Lito: Umookey naman na. Oo, sa akin nakuha yung mata at lips nung baby, pati yung kutis niya. Maputi ang baby e sina Mariel at Tony ay hindi naman.

      Reply
  13. Ansakit. Di ko maimagine. Langya ang sakit nung tamaan ka nung kanto ng dispenser ng scotch tape sa big toe, putik. Yung matalim na parte pa? F**k ansakit nun. Fiction ba to o personal experience dude? Elibs ako kay misis, klap-klap. Sana wag kalimutan ng tuluyang yung baby.

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 8, 2010

      Lito: Sobrang sakit pero kailangang indahin. (May hiwa dun malapit sa malaking daliri ng paa. -Taribong) Kasi mas grabe ang ang nagawa ko. Hindi ko pababayaan ang baby.

      (Totoo ito yin. Pinalitan lang ang mga pangalan at ilang pwedeng mapagkikilanlan. -Taribong)

      Reply
  14. hi taribong! pa change naman ako ng link.. dumadatkom na kase sya ngayon.. hehe

    Reply
  15. gandang kwento ng pagpapatawad…pilit kong nilalagay ang sarili ko sa asawa ni Lito…kaya ko kayang gawin yun ng ganon kadali? siguro talagang sobrang pagmamahal nya sa asawa nya kaya sya nakapag patawad ng ganon….isang saludo kay Lito sa pagsasabi ng katotohanan…atleast hindi sa ibang tao pa nalaman ng mrs nya…mas masakit siguro yun!

    ang ganda…ang galing!

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 12, 2010

      Yun talaga ang sinabi ng mga matatalik na kaibigan ni Lito, na lubos na nakakaunawa sa sitwasyon. ang suhestiyon ko ay itago hanggang kayang sagarin waaaaah. malay ko ba, bata pa ako eh wahahaahahaha Maraming salamat p0kw4ng.

      Reply
  16. Maganda, lahat nga tayo ay nagkakamali. Alam lang dapat natin kung paano itatama ang mga iyon.

    Pero minsan, ung lalaki nagkamali, tapos hihingi ng tawad. Tapos gagawin ulit. tapos hihingi ulit ng tawad. Ung babae naman, patawad ng patawad. I know that we must forgive others, pero you have to know when enough is enough. Me mga kilala ako ganyan.hahaha

    Reply
  17. Yo yo yo Taribong🙂

    Sana maging mabuti ang kalagayan ng lahat. Bubudburan ko kayo ng good vibes at magpapakahiphop ako para sa inyo. Haha.

    Eto pala bago kong site. Pakipalitan nalang po. Salamatness🙂

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 12, 2010

      Lito: maraming salamat mr. vajarl.

      (Thanks for the good vibes, and keep ’em coming hehehe. astig! -taribong)

      Reply
  18. kay pokwang ako may sasabihin tars, powks patatawarin kita powks. oo. =p

    Reply
  19. wow. so dramatic, realistic.
    i believe it is a relieve for you
    ng masabi mo po un lahat. i think
    you are stil a good husband. i wonder
    kapag kung ako ang andon sa situation
    do you think i can find all the
    strength to tell that to her?
    whoaah…You have a very loving wife.
    love her more kuya. =)

    Reply
  20. tarbs! pa-update na ng links ha… pinalitan ko yung theme ulit, di na yung nakita mo nung kahapon. hehe. ang hirap nun kasi walang widgets.

    Reply
  21. The Lady Green Hopper

     /  February 13, 2010

    ayy..infidelity…
    good Tony is not torn anymore..but still he must continue supporting Mariel’s baby.

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 15, 2010

      Tony is away and putting himself together. Lito is very much willing to support his child with Mariel, but the thing is, Elena is convincing Mariel to give up the child for adoption should Mariel want Tony back…

      Reply
  22. kamusta po an magiging valentines day ni kuya lito kuya taribong?

    Reply
    • eto ok naman. aw. hahaha

      kamusta na kuya taribong kuya lito

      Reply
      • taribong

         /  February 15, 2010

        Hehehe sweet daw sila Lito at Zeny nung Valentine’s. Nag-date silang dalawa sa MOA, hapon hanggang gabi at nanood pa ng fireworks hehehe. Ang pinakaimportante nagkausap sila ng masinsinan at nailabas ang mga sama ang loob. Sarap daw ng feeling.

        Reply
  23. =) smiley na lang muna, basta.

    ni link na rin kita, hindi pa pala kita naililink.

    Reply
  24. Wah! This is… brilliant. The story was brilliantly told, I swear. *A* Ang ganda Kuya Taribong! Super! Weeee!~

    I attempted on writing this before but since my knowledge of the subject matter was limited, it turned out crappy. It ended up in my recycle bin. Lol.

    Wah. Ang ganda po talaga. *A*

    Reply
    • aina, sabi ni ate kaye mo, wag mo muna itry ang ganitong klase ng istorya. baby ka pa… yung mga crush crush lang muna at first kiss… mashadong sensitive ang ganito, pang-expert lang tulad ni tarbs. hahahaha!

      Reply
      • Shax, Ate, haha. :)) Super mature reader ko po. Even my parents know that. Haha. Di naman po nila ako pinipigilan/binabawalan kasi po wala lang naman rin po kasi sa akin eh. Lol.😀 Hehe!😀

        Reply
    • taribong

       /  February 17, 2010

      nakop. maraming salamat sa papuri (nagtalukbong ng malong) hehehe. (sumilip bigla) Teka muna, menor de edad ka pa, hija. Nagpaalam ka ba sa mga magulang mo na dadalaw ka dito sa post na ito?

      Makinig ka kay Ate Kaye mo. Huwag munang ganito ang tema, darating ka din sa wastong gulang. Enjoy mo muna ang iyong kamusmusan, huwag magmadali at alam kong malayo ang mararating mo. O di ba, pupunta ka na sa Mindanao para sa NSPC? Kitams. Best of luck to you and God bless you always. Go kick some ash!!! hehehe

      Reply
      • Lol, ayos lang po talaga kay Mama. At kay Papa, I think? Kasi almost all of my books here involves that in a way. Hehe. Tsaka yung lit po nowadays eh liberated na so inevitable po yang ganyan. Tapos I love works involving lies and deceit. Ayun.😀 Hehe. Pero di po ako nagbabasa ng mainly ganyan lang po. Yung may mga plots po. Hehe. Don’t worry, di po ako mapusok. I think twice before doing anything. Ayun.

        Opo, sa Sunday po. Wah, di po ako mananalo dun no.😀 Haha. Loser po kaya ako. Di po ako mananalo dun, pero thanks po. Gyahaha. Nakakatuwa naman po ang uber support nyo.😀

        Reply
  25. huy, pizza mo at DQ sa sabado! punta ka sa site ko. hahaha!🙂

    Reply
  26. Dave

     /  February 17, 2010

    Naniniwala ako na makikilala mo ang kabutihan ng puso ng isang tao kapag naging tapat ka pa din sa kanya kahit magbunga ito ng isang masakit na katotohanan. Hindi ako nagkamali ng advice kay Lito na magtapat sa kanyang butihing pusong asawa…naging masakit man dahil sa pisikal na ginawa ng kanyang maybahay pero sulit naman ang kapanatagan ng loob ni Lito dahil makaktulog na siya ng mahimbing …di po ba taribong ???

    Reply
  27. Okay. Wow. WOW. Your wife is a SAINT. That’s all I can say.

    Reply
  28. hello po.

    hmn, it looks like fiction to me. but it sounds credible, bok. parang hango sa totoong buhay. kaunting editing na lang and it could get published na [hindi sa blog].

    why don’t you make some more of this tapos gawing parang series or collection? just an idea from somebody na first time nag-comment, hi, hi…

    magsulat ka pa. you’re good, you’re good [ha, ha… parang si robert de niro lang kay b. crystal :]

    Reply
  1. 2010 in review « ang alingawngaw ng taribong. . .

Leave a Reply

