A Strange But True Ghost Story

Countless ghost stories have been told and retold especially when All Souls’ Day nears.  Whether true or not, they don’t fail to scare, horrify, amaze and/or amuse a willing, curious audience.  Their growing popularity has gone mainstream as books, comics and magazines of this genre now line a shelf or two in bookstores and magazine stands.

People close to me have their own ghost stories to tell.  Similarly, I, too, have personal accounts of similar ghost experiences.  Most often, I keep them to myself, especially those which I think have significant impact to me, symbolic or otherwise.

One of the most vivid ghost experiences I can remember happened about a year ago and was captured on my cellphone video camera.  That was when I went to San Jose, Occidental Mindoro on a work-related trip.

Immediately after I arrived from Manila, I attended to my work and was finished by late afternoon.  Then, I was brought by my hostess lady host/client to the hotel resort where I was billeted.  My host/client left and said she’d be back with her company members at dinnertime.

I then brought my things to my assigned room at the second floor of the  hotel.  As my work was about done, I went downstairs and went to the cottages near the beach.  The hotel security and personnel were at the lobby area and there was activity in the kitchen area of the hotel.

There was still light coming from the sun which was about to set.  I was all alone at the cottage, and there was no people at the beach. It was before dusk and I decided to take a panoramic view of the beach. I panned my cellphone camera on video mode from right to left when suddenly my cellphone went off.  My cellphone rarely malfunctioned; I waited for a while and then turned it on.  I was not able to save the video clip and so, I repeated the video-ing process to record the sight for another try.  I was able to save the second video clip I took.

I did not bother to review the recorded video clip as the lady host/client arrived.  With her are one male friend, a female member of her company and her child.  We had dinner of freshly cooked seafoods:  sinigang na isda (di ko alam ang pangalan, pero super sarap), fried squid rings, large prawns super sarap din heheehe, and assorted inihaw.  After dinner, we had drinking spree and some videoke (limited to plain listening and cheering on my part as I am no-good singer).

The fun was called off before twelve midnight as I excused myself to rest my already tired body.  I declined going for nightlife tour and some extra-curricular activities hehehehe. There was an eerie presence in the room but I shunned all thoughts of it as I need to have my rest.

I was roused from sleep very early the next morning.  I went to the beach for a stroll and/or for some jogging.  As I was walking past the cottage area, I brought out my cellphone and scanned the video I took the other day.  To my surprise, at about two seconds before the end of the video clip, there was a shadow profile of a man standing right next to me when I panned the camera to my left.   The contour of the head, eyes, nose and lips were very prominent but very dark.  I was all alone at the time, and I had goosebumps all over.

I still proceeded to the beach, after all, it was already morning and the sun was about to come out.  At the beach, I looked back at the cottage, past through of which was the hotel, then I started to stroll past them southward, and guess what  I discovered?  Several meters past the hotel resort, where the image of a man’s face was recorded on my cellphone, was a cemetery: tomb after tomb, crosses one after another!

I immediately went back to my hotel room and prepared my things for the flight home.  Then, I went back to the cottage at the beach to wait for the lady host/client.

As soon as they arrived, I told them about what I had captured on my cellphone camera and showed it to them.  They could not believe what i had recorded and they too had goosebumps hehehehe.   The lady host/client hesitated at first but later tod me that that was nothing compared to what she had experienced from her previous house which she had then recently sold, the house which they originally wanted me to stay (ngyeh!), the house where her husband  had died in from bone cancer, the house where she heard frequent thumping of feet and sounds of heavy steps inside the house in the dead of night, where doors would close for no reason at all, where sounds of anguish and moans of pain would be heard even at daytime and its source could not be located, etc.  Surely even the thought of what she related to me would have kept me awake all night and even my dead-drunk body would have turned sober until the next day.  (Would I then call myself lucky being billeted in the hotel?)

When I got  to Manila, I showed the video clip to my friends and officemates, and they had similar reactions.  Some were very vocal of their own experiences, others just kept mum and not share their own scary stuff.

But then, I forgot all about the video clip when I gave my cellphone to my niece, who then deleted all gallery images and video clips.  How I wished I had that copy of the video clip preserved for posterity’s sake.  Now, only those who had seen the video clip could confirm this story to be true.  At least, if they still remember.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. sayang. you were not able to save that freakin clip!

    you could have shared it with us…NO! it would surely scare the living daylights out of me.😀

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  November 2, 2009

      Oo nga, flamindevil. Supersayang talaga… Yung isang kaibigan ko nga sa Laguna, pinakita ko dati yung video clip para makita ang ganda ng view sa beach, tumayo balahibo niya sa end part, hindi ko pa nakukuwento yung nangyari hehehehehe. Anyway, baka magpakita ulit siya/iyon sa video clip pagbalik namin sa San Jose, pagnagkataon hindi ako mag-aatubiling i-share sa inyo hehehhehehe

      Salamat sa pagdalaw… Siyanga pala, ikinakampanya kayo ni father fiel sa PEBA, kaya todo boto na kami sa inyo nina bonistation at topexpress. congrats ulit!

      Reply
    • Aw. Oo nga. Sayang, kahit sana dito na-upload!

      Goosebumps din ako sa kung-anuman-na-nilalang-yung-katabi mo when taking the video. Ayoko na pala sumama sa’yo. Ang dami mong expi sa mga ganyan kahit yung latest post mo! Waah.

      I have had two or three experience with ghosts. But those weren’t captured in any devices.. kaya hanggang kwento na lang. Hay.

      Reply
      • Hehehe. Wala na akong karagdagang kuwentong katatakutan, hehehe.

        Ikaw naman magkuwento, dali…..

        Reply
      • Eto meron akong witness.. We were playing tong-its together with my cousin and a neighbor.. Titira na ako ng baraha ko and somebody passed by my side. Hindi ko muna tiningnan kase it was my turn to give the cards.

        Then lumingon ako kung sino yung dumaan kase nakita ko talaga na something big, literally big, wearing something of a colorful top and a black pants.. Then wala. Okay lang naman, baka my eyes is deceiving me..

        Then lumingon din yung pinsan ko. I ask her why bakit siya lumingon. Ayoko mag-assume. Baka trip niya lang lumingon. Then she told me na may bumangga si likod niya. Naramdaman niya talaga. And I told my cousin if she saw a colorful being. Then she said yes. Waah.

        That freaked us out.

        And then meron pa sa school namin. T’was high school years. I saw a girl in a white dress. As in white dress, gown kung gown ang labanan. Sinundan ko nga siya. I wanted to see her face. She was old. I am sure of that. Pero hindi ko nakita yung mukha niya. Hinabol ko siya and then lumiko siya sa mezzanine. ‘It’ entered the Head’s Office. I didn’t saw her face.

        Why do I want to see her face? A photo taken by my classmate (I wasn’t in the picture) on the garden of our school had an old lady. ‘It’ was dressed in white.. even her face. The photo was reproduced into so many copies.

        Recently, wala pa naman akong nae experience ulit na ganyan.

        Reply
        • taribong

           /  November 6, 2009

          Hala ka, ikaw pala ang pinagpapakitaan at pinagpaparamdaman hehhehehheeh May bumangga sa likod ng pinsan mo, parang sa Ghost???

          Sana maka-experience ka ulit ng ganon para may mai-share ka again. hehehhehe joke lang. Awts

          Reply
  2. kaye

     /  November 3, 2009

    wahhh! at I would have wanted to ask you to post it here so we could also see. but i guess there’s a reason that video clip had to be deleted.

    marami nga sigurong wandering souls in our midst. ako matatakutin talaga kaya nga ayokong ayoko manonood ng horror movies eh.

    maybe they should have had their house (your lady client’s) blessed.

    I also think these wandering spirits need our prayers…

    Reply
    • taribong

       /  November 3, 2009

      May dahilan nga kung bakit na-delete yung video clip; natakot din siguro yung pamangkin ko hehehehe. Ayoko namang i-haunt siya ng video clip hehehehhe

      Napa-bless-an din yata nila yung house noon, even before nagkasakit yung husband niya. Sabihin ko sana, kathang-isip lang niya yun, pero pinatotohanan naman ng caretaker nila, dahil parating nagpapasama sa bahay yung lady client namin doon para lang may makasama sila ng anak niya (makulit din anak niya hehehehehe, parang ka-edad din siya ni jeremy). Last option na lang yung ipinagbili ang bahay, at ang nakabili ay nagwo-work sa abroad, walang nakatira doon ngayon kaya puwedeng rentahan for transient lodging, hehehe. Parang gusto ko i-try magstay dun minsan, trip lang, bukas lahat ng ilaw hehehe… Kung gusto niyo visit yung place, pwede ko sigurong i-arrange sa client namin hehehehhe

      maraming salamat ulit sa pagdalaw…

      Reply
      • kaye

         /  November 5, 2009

        nyah! thanks, but no thanks. matatakutin pa naman ako. di ko alam kung ano gagawin ko pag may nagpakita sa akin. hahahhha!

        Reply
  3. Ayos itong ghost story mo.

    Pero sa tinagal-tagal ko sa mga biyahe ko sa mga fieldwork(Luzon/Visayas) ay wala naman akong close encounters. Ayaw siguro akong lapitan. Mas takot ako sa buhay…hehe.

    Congrats pala Taribong sa home stretch mo sa laro natin. Ikaw na yata ang leading.

    Ingat lagi dyan sa atin & God Bless!

    Reply
    • Maraming salamat, superlolongpinoy. Iniisip ko nga, ina-appreciate lang din niya siguro ang view kaya side view yung profile niya. Parang “stolen shot” dahil camera-shy siya sa una kaya niya pinatay ang cellphone ko hehehehe. Hindi kaya naka-close up siya sa unang video clip na hindi ko na-save? hehehehe

      Nagkataon lang po siguro dahil mag-isa lang ako at tahimik. Kung may kasama ako siguro noon, at may kakuwentuhan, lalo na kapag nabasbasan ng espiritu ng alak, baka maingayan at hindi na nagparamdam o nagpakita.

      Maraming, maraming salamat po. Hindi nga po ako makapaniwala, three successive homeruns… tsumatsamba po sa pag-post ni father… Pero mahaba pa po ang laro, may five (5) innings pa. Baka sa susunod na posts, aariba na kayo nina topexpress at kaye sa paghataw, dikit-dikit lang po ang score hehehehe. Ang sarap maglaro, ano po?

      Hanggang sa muli. God bless you always po. Best regards na rin sa inyong pamilya.

      Reply
  4. yahoo!!!

    hindi ghost story ang dala ko taribong!

    nag-update na ako ng laro natin and i realize ikaw na nga ang nangunguna! yahoo! congrats!!!

    Reply
    • hala, na-shy naman ako father (at mas lalong kinabahan), dahil sa umpisa ay nanood lang ako sa pag-arangkada (at pananatili sa taas) ni topexpress (kaya nga topexpress eh hehehehehe) at mga kasamang basers…

      pero maraming salamat po. malayo pa po ang laro, marami pang puwedeng mangyari… at nakaamba ang pagharurot ng lahat ng basers…

      muli, maraming salamat po sa tuwa at saya na dulot ng inyong palaro. Ingat po kayo lagi.

      Reply
  5. Haha, kung makakaexperience ako, gusto ko video-ed or recorded na. Wala lang, para sikat ang post! Haha! Aw. Pero ayoko ng hardcore na gulatan-con-takutan-con-patayan na multo yung mae-expi ko. Aw, katakot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

